AU Outlook on Education Report: Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) 2012

This report reviews the progress made by the member states of the Economic Community for West African States (ECOWAS) region's education sector in implementing the African Union's Plan of Action for the Second Decade of Education (2006-2015). The regional economic community of ECOWAS was founded in 1975 and comprises 15 countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo. The ECOWAS Commission, which supports the region in all sectors, is based in Abuja, Nigeria.
This is the second report assessing the countries' progress in implementing the African Union's Plan of Action. It coincides with the biannual meeting of African ministers of education, held in Abuja, Nigeria, in 2012. Unlike the first edition, this report covers all areas of the plan, including technical and vocational education and training, curriculum and teaching and learning materials, and early childhood development.

General informations
Document format: 
Document type: 
Release date: 
Available versions
This document can be consulted at the following address: